Flourish PHP Unframework
This is an archived copy of the forum for reference purposes

fTemplate php inside js

posted by darren 8 years ago

Hi,

How can I or whats the best way of rendering php vars inside my external JS using fTemplate?

$this->tpl->add('js', APP_PATH.'/scripts/export.js');

Inside the JS there will a few php vars...

$(document).ready(function() {
	var options = {width: 900, type: 'application/pdf', url: '<?php echo this->get('some_var'); ?>'};

//more code...
});

Thanks,

Darren

I am by no means an expert ad could be totally wrong here. I see two ways of doing this.

The first is to make your external js dynamic by making it a php page and give it a header.

In Your Template

<script type="text/javascript" src="/path/to/dynamic_js.php"></script>

Source for dynamic_js.php

<?php

// set the header to force it to be js Header("content-type: application/x-javascript"); ?>

$(document).ready(function() { var options = {width: 900, type: 'application/pdf', url: '<?php echo fTemplating::get('some_var'); ?>'}; //more code... });

// end dynamic_js.php

posted by dberry 8 years ago

The other is to set a js var equal to your php and pass it to your js...

<script type="text/javascript">
  some_var = <?php echo fTemplating::get('some_var');
</script>

<script type="text/javascript" src="/path/to/your.js"></script>
posted by dberry 8 years ago

Hi... thanks for the reply...

RE: first reply - Because i add that external JS dynamically based on the page through the flourish template engine $this->tpl->add('js', 'script') i cant have a .php file as it only supports .js extension.

Your second reply is very similar to what i was doing except you moved the var out of the js and placed inline?

However you have given me an idea though... i might be able to use the $this->tpl->set('some_name', 'js file') which may do it...